Instituto Brasileiro de Geografia e Estatística

A- A+

Natural Resources and Environmental Studies


Map of the Area covered by Law no 11,428 of 2006

The Law no 11,428, approved by the National Congress on December 22, 2006, determined that the Brazilian Institute of Geography and Statistics (IBGE) would be responsible for the elaboration of the Map that represented the limits of the forest formations and associated ecosystems under its coverage.

The Decree no 6 660, of November 21, 2008, established that the map of IBGE, regulated by the 2nd Article of Law no 11,428, “include the original composition of the following native forest formations and associated ecosystems: Dense Ombrophilous Forest; Mixed Ombrophilous Forest, also known as Araucaria Forest; Open Ombrophilous Forest; Semideciduous Seasonal Forest; Deciduous Seasonal Forest; altitude fields; primary formations, known as mangroves, restingas, salt fields and alluvial areas; vegetation isolated patches; ecological tension zones; interior marshes and forest enclaves, resulting from isolated patches of Dense Ombrophilous Forest, Open Ombrophilous Forest, Semideciduous Seasonal Forest and Deciduous Seasonal Forest; areas of steppe, savanna and savanna-steppe; and native vegetation of coastal and oceanic islands”.

The Decree also determines that the map be available in the websites of the Ministry of Environment and IBGE and be printed as well.

In compliance with regulation, IBGE elaborated the “Map of the Area covered by Law no 11,428 of 2006”(1:5,000,000 scale), representing the vegetal coverage in its original composition, including the different typologies covered by the Law. This map is technically consistent with the Map of Vegetation of Brazil (IBGE, 2004) and with the Map of Biomes of Brazil, first approach (IBGE, 2004).

In a note attached to the Map, IBGE explains that the mapping of the native vegetation remnants of the different typologies and the identification of their respective consecutive stages must be performed in compliance with the 4th Article of Law 11,428, of 2006; the Decree no 6 660, of 2008; and the Resolutions of the National Council of Environment (Conama), which define the technical parameters for the identification of the primary vegetation and secondary vegetation in the initial, middle and advanced regeneration stages.